TASER® Devices and stun guns are not considered as firearms. They are legal for law enforcement use in all 50 states. They can be legally owned by citizens in 48 states. The states of New York, New Jersey and Massachusetts were the most recent states to legalize TASER Devices and stun guns for citizen use.
Can you use a taser for self-defense?
A non-lethal, legal weapon is always a highly preferred choice for self-protection. … So, carrying pepper spray, a stun gun, or a Taser are the best options for self-defense.
Is it legal to walk around with a Taser?
Tasers are legal for law enforcement use in every state, according to Taser International. But when it comes to consumer use and possession, there are several states in which consumers are not allowed to possess a Taser, including Hawaii, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island.
What states are Tasers illegal in?
TASER weapons are legal to sell and own in 45 states and Puerto Rico with little to no restrictions. They are currently banned from civilian ownership in Washington DC, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New York, and New Jersey.
Which is better for self-defense pepper spray or taser?
While both offer some distance, pepper spray can be wafted away by the wind to some extent, or back into your own face. In other words, you may want to get closer to be more effective. A Taser is as effective as your aim, so if you’re able to make contact with the torso, it doesn’t matter how close you are.
Is it legal for a civilian to carry a Taser?
TASER® Devices and stun guns are not considered as firearms. They are legal for law enforcement use in all 50 states. They can be legally owned by citizens in 48 states. The states of New York, New Jersey and Massachusetts were the most recent states to legalize TASER® Devices and stun guns for citizen use.
Can you go to jail for pepper spraying someone?
California Pepper Spray Laws
In California, it is a criminal offense to use pepper spray against another person out of anger or in a way that is not considered self-defense. Doing so can result in a fine and/or up-to 3 years in state prison.
Can a 13 year old carry pepper spray?
Minors over the age of 16 can lawfully possess and use pepper spray in self-defense with written permission from parents or under parental supervision. Selling pepper spray to a minor is unlawful, as is using the chemical for any reason besides self-defense.
Can a 13 year old carry a taser?
Unfortunately not. In any state anybody under the legal age of 18 is not allowed to purchase or carry a stun gun on their person, however you can be of any age to have a stun gun in your home.
Do I need a concealed carry permit for a TASER?
A Taser that only delivers a single application of voltage is not considered a dangerous weapon and may be carried without a concealed weapon license. However, if the Taser is capable of delivering multiple applications of voltage, you must have a concealed weapon license.
What’s the difference between a stun gun and a TASER?
Is there a difference between a stun gun and a TASER? Yes. Stun guns are close-range devices that require you to be near the person attacking you while using a painful shock to discourage further contact. In contrast, TASERs have a projectile that attaches to targets further away.